Ciara – Like a Boy

Ciara is an American singer/dancer/actress/jack of all trades whose music was especially popular in the mid-2000s. This song came up on Pandora this evening and I was pleasantly surprised – in my (very limited) experience, a lot of 90s and 2000s R&B seems to support traditional male-dominant heterosexual relationships and the hypersexualization of women. This song 1) is extremely catchy, 2) was very popular at the time, and 3) makes a very telling commentary on the stereotypes of the very community in which it was especially popular. What does it mean if a fabulously successful, triple-platinum, female, arguably gorgeous R&B artist wants to act like a boy?

Pulled out some lyrics for you:

Wish we could switch up the roles and I could be that
Tell you I love you but when you call, I never get back

What if I had a thing on the side, made you cry
Would the rules change up or would they still apply
If I played you like a toy?
Sometimes I wish I could act like a boy

If I paged you, would you like that?
Had friends, would you like that?
With a car, would you like that?
Hell nah, you wouldnt like that, no

One thought on “Ciara – Like a Boy

  1. Just wanted to say that I love this song! I’ve loved it for a while and every time it comes up on my ipod on shuffle I smile a little. I love the way she switches up the roles, but again, why can’t she “act like a boy”? Always made me wonder…

Leave a Reply

