Cliteracy

Cliteracy

So this artist Sophia Wallace did this piece about the clitoris and it had gotten some attention. After talking in class about women and consumption and how they are not supposed to enjoy eating, which relates to sexuality, I thought again about this article. It is really amazing how little we have known scientifically about the clitoris and how recent this information has become recognized. There are also some clever posters in here, one of my favorites being “Democracy without cliteracy? Phallusy.” I have shown this to some of my male friends and they have learned a lot from reading this. Thought I would share it here. I would like to discuss in class at some point why it is so wrong in the eyes of society for women to enjoy sex. It always seems to baffle me, because if the women are not enjoying  the sex that they are having, doesn’t that promote rape culture?

Leave a Reply

