Spoken Word Poetry re: “Hunger as Ideology”

Watch A Student Totally Nail Something About Women That I’ve Been Trying To Articulate For 37 Years

So basically this video follows perfectly the progression of Bordo’s claims in “Hunger as Ideology”. My roommate posted this on, you guessed it, Facebook. Seemed too relevant to pass up.

 

A few quotes I pulled while listening:

[my mother] wanes while my father waxes

i have been taught accommodation…. you [younger brother] have been taught to grow out, i have been taught to grow in

[my mother is] a fugitive stealing calories to which she does not feel entitled

i asked five questions in genetics class today and all of them started with the word “sorry”

inheritance is accidental

One thought on “Spoken Word Poetry re: “Hunger as Ideology”

  1. I absolutely loved this, my mom actually showed it to me earlier this week. I especially liked what she got at about the “inheritance is accidental” idea you mentioned–the fact that she either mimicked or hated her mother, but she didn’t mean to. It strikes me more and more every day how much it’s really necessary to be conscious of the habits we pick up and what tradition means in a world where women really can’t take up space.

Leave a Reply

